Navegación


foros

Inicio de sesión






id

How to add or delete users on Debian

Understanding how to add and remove users on Debian is a very important fundamental skill that every individual should have. When given a new server, a new default root account is often created which gives the operator full system access for administrative purposes which is crucial although it is known to be very dangerous when not used well. As a result, most people are required to create new accounts to lessen the risks although the privileges are reduced. It is, therefore, important to learn how to add the users and how to delete them in case they are no longer needed.

How to add a new user

To add a new user to the account, one needs to first become the root by logging in as an administrator or using the regular account and then activating the su command. After logging in the system as the administrator, use the adduser command or type the following syntax: Adduser newuser. You will be required by Debian to put in a new password followed by some personal information concerning the new account, but it is not mandatory to fill in this information. Finally, the system asks you to confirm that all the information given is correct and if it, type “Y” and press enter to continue.

Debian day

How to remove/delete a user

In case a user is no longer required in the system, it is always advisable and important to lock or delete them out. As the primary operator with Sudo privileges, one can eliminate the account by typing the root as: deluser newuser, and in case you want to remove their home directory, the –remove-home option is the way to go.

Adding and removing users is a very simple task, but it is important for individuals to familiarize themselves with the process for more confidence and accuracy.